New Hampshire has some of the strictest DUI and DWI rules on the east coast. When you are facing DWI charges, you will need the services of New Hampshire DWI laws and penalties lawyers to ensure you do not spend any time in jail, pay heavy fines and to keep your driving privileges.
What are the DWI penalties in NH?
Any person convicted for DWI will be guilty of a class B misdemeanor. In such cases, the court will issue a fine of at least $500, suspend their driver’s license for at least nine months up to two years, and require the completion of an Impaired Driver Intervention Program (IDIP) to reinstate their license.
They will be required to submit to an alcohol and drug abuse screening in an Impaired Driver Care Management Program (IDCMP) within 14 days of conviction. If the IDCMP deems necessary, he will be required to submit to a full substance disorder evaluation within 30 days of the conviction and participate in a treatment and recovery plan developed by the IDCMP.
The driver may petition the court to reduce the driving suspension by up to 6 months if they have complied with the screening, evaluation, and recovery plan requirements.
The court may also impose a requirement for an ignition interlock device to be installed on the driver’s vehicle during the period of the sentence reduction.
Under 21 DWI:
Same as above but the minimum mandatory license loss is 1 year.
Similar to above but is considered a class A misdemeanor and carries with it mandatory jail time (5 days) and a minimum mandatory loss of license of 18 months with the requirement to install an interlock device for 12 months.
Second Offense w/in 2 years
Fine of at least $750 dollars with a minimum mandatory imprisonment of at least 60 consecutive days in which 30 days will be suspended including a full substance abuse evaluation with the IDCMP within 30 days of release, complete the substance disorder evaluation within 60 days of release and comply with the recovery plan developed by the IDCMP.
Second Offense outside 2 but within 10 years.
Same as above with at least 17 consecutive days with 12 days suspended as long as the drug and alcohol evaluation is scheduled within 30 days of his release, and completed within 60 days, while complying with any recovery plan developed.
License suspended for a period of at least three years starting from the date of the conviction. The offender will also be required to install an ignition interlock device on his vehicle for at least 12 months upon restoration of license.
It is never a good idea to simply accept a DWI charge without fighting it. Contact Attorney Nicholas Howie immediately after your arrest and let us get to work mounting your defense.